2019 08 15 Carnegie Awardee Mandel Facebook

Morton L. Mandel Selected As a Recipient of the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy

Morton L. Mandel, Chairman and CEO of the Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Foundation, has been selected as a recipient of the 2019 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy.

The international family of Carnegie Institutions announced their selections on August 12.  This year’s celebration is particularly significant and poignant because it commemorates the 100th anniversary of the death of Andrew Carnegie.

As stated by his great grandson, William Thomson, recipients are recognized because they have “committed their wealth to the benefit of mankind.”  Andrew Carnegie remains one of the most influential philanthropists in history.  Celebrating over 100 years of his philanthropy is exceptionally significant and this year’s recipients were selected in the hope that their legacy will continue to have impact on humankind over many generations.  As Andrew Carnegie said, “To try to make the world in some way better than you found it is to have a noble motive in life.”

The award will be presented in New York City in October. Other medal recipients include:

  • Anne G. Earhart, U.S.A., Marisla Foundation
  • Mellody Hobson and George Lucas, U.S.A., George Lucas Family Foundation
  • Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis, U.S.A., The Marie-Josée and Henry R. Kravis Foundation
  • Robert F. Smith, U.S.A., Fund II Foundation
  • Leonard Tow, U.S.A., The Tow Foundation
  • Sir Ian Wood KT GBE, Scotland, U.K., The Wood Foundation

Additional information about the award and the other awardees can be found at www.medalofphilanthropy.org.